Language
Now in Minsk   The weather in Belarus

Home Belarus - United Kingdom Political Dialogue

Political Dialogue

The Republic of Belarus attaches great importance to the development of bilateral cooperation with the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

The diplomatic relations between Belarus and the UK were established on January 27th, 1992. In July 1993 the Consulate General of the Republic of Belarus was set up in London and in June 1994 it was transformed into the Embassy of the Republic of Belarus in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The first Ambassador of Belarus to the UK was HE Mr. Vladimir Senko. The British Embassy in Minsk has been functioning since 1993.

During the first years of the development of relations between Belarus and the UK quite an intensive political dialogue was established. The Chairman of the Supreme Council of the Republic of Belarus (December, 1994) and the Prime Minister of the Republic of Belarus (May, 1995) visited London. Several working visits of the Deputy Prime Ministers to the UK were organised. Contacts at municipal level were established.

On June 14th, 1996 the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland was one of the first in the European Union to ratify the Partnership and Cooperation Agreement between Belarus and the EU.

Due to mutual interest of the countries in cooperation in a number of essentially important spheres, contacts on interdepartmental level are maintained; inter-regional and businesses interaction between the two countries is developed.

On November 18th, 2008 the first Belarus Investment Forum took place in London. On November 16-19th, 2008 within the framework of the Forum a delegation headed by Belarus Prime Minister Sergei Sidorsky visited London.

On February 18th, 2013 the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Belarus to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland HE Mr. Sergei Aleinik presented the copies of his Credentials to the Vice Marshal of the Diplomatic Corps, Director of Protocol.

On June 5th, 2013 at the Royal London Residence – the Buckingham Palace – HE Mr. Sergei Aleinik presented his Credentials to the Queen Elizabeth II.

On 8 – 10 September 2013, HE Alena Kupchyna, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Belarus paid a working visit to the United Kingdom. During the visit Deputy Minister A.Kupchina had meetings with the Rt Hon David Lidington MP, Minister of State for Europe of the Foreign Commonwealth Office.

On 9 February  2016, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Belarus, Vladimir Makei, met with the Director General for Political Affairs of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Simon Gass during his visit to Belarus.

In Оctober 2016 a visit of Prince Michael of Kent to Belarus took place, during which he was received by President Alexander Lukashenko.

On January 27th, 2017 there was an exchange of Protocol messages of the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the two countries on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between the Republic of Belarus and the UK.

On September 25-26, 2017, Minister of State for Europe and the Americas of the British Foreign Office, Sir Alan Duncan, visited the Republic of Belarus. The British high representative was received by the Head of State, held talks with the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Belarus. The sides noted the constructive nature of the discussions, outlined ways of further development of cooperation between the two countries, including in the context of the British exit from the EU in 2019.

Language

Главная Беларусь - Великобритания Политический диалог

Политические отношения

Республика Беларусь придает важное значение развитию двустороннего сотрудничества с Великобританией.

Дипломатические отношения между Республикой Беларусь и Соединенным Королевством Великобритании и Северной Ирландии установлены 27 января 1992 года. В июле 1993 года было открыто Генеральное консульство Республики Беларусь в г.Лондоне, которое в июне 1994 года было преобразовано в Посольство Республики Беларусь в Соединенном Королевстве Великобритании и Северной Ирландии. Первым Послом Республики Беларусь в Великобритании стал Владимир Сенько. Посольство Соединенного Королевства Великобритании и Северной Ирландии в г.Минске функционирует с 1993 года.

В первые годы развития отношений между Беларусью и Великобританией установился довольно интенсивный политический диалог. В декабре 1994 года Великобританию посетил Председатель Верховного Совета, а в мае 1995 года – Премьер-министр Республики Беларусь. Было проведено несколько рабочих визитов в Великобританию на уровне заместителей Премьер-министра. Состоялся обмен визитами руководителей ряда министерств. Установлены контакты на муниципальном уровне. Совместно с Конфедерацией британской промышленности проведены две конференции по инвестициям в белорусскую экономику.

14 июня 1996 года Великобритания одной из первых в Европейском Союзе ратифицировала Соглашение о партнерстве и сотрудничестве между Беларусью и ЕС.

16 – 19 ноября 2008 г. Великобританию посетил Премьер-министр Республики Беларусь С.С. Сидорский для участия в первом Белорусском инвестиционном форуме в г.Лондоне.

18 февраля 2013 года Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол Республики Беларусь в Соединенном Королевстве Великобритании и Северной Ирландии Сергей Алейник вручил копии верительных грамот вице-маршалу дипломатического корпуса, руководителю протокольного директората Министерства иностранных дел Великобритании.

5 июня 2013 года в официальной лондонской резиденции британских монархов – Букингемском дворце – Посол Сергей Алейник вручил верительные грамоты Королеве Великобритании Елизавете II.

8 – 10 сентября 2013 г. заместитель Министра иностранных дел Республики Беларусь Е.Н. Купчина посетила Великобританию с рабочим визитом, в ходе которого провела переговоры с Государственным Министром по делам Европы Дэвидом Лидингтоном, а также серию встреч в МИД Великобритании.

9 февраля 2016 г. Министр иностранных дел Республики Беларусь В.В. Макей провел встречу с Директором политического департамента МИД Великобритании Саймоном Гассом во время его рабочего визита в Республику Беларусь.

В октябре 2016 г. состоялся визит в Республику Беларусь Принца Майкла Кентского, в ходе которого он был принят Президентом Республики Беларусь А.Г. Лукашенко.

27 января 2017 г. министры иностранных дел двух стран обменялись протокольными посланиями по случаю 25-летия установления дипломатических отношений между Республикой Беларусь и Великобританией.

25 – 26 сентября 2017 г состоялся визит в Республику Беларусь Государственного министра по делам Европы и Америки МИД Великобритании Алана Дункана. Высокий британский представитель был принят Главой государства, состоялись переговоры с Министром иностранных дел Республики Беларусь. Стороны констатировали конструктивный характер состоявшихся обсуждений, наметили пути дальнейшего развития сотрудничества между двумя странами, в том числе в контексте выхода Великобритании из ЕС в 2019 году.